OPEN DAILY | 9am - 5pm
  Gariwerd Six Seasons  

Gariwerd Six Seasons

There are many different ways of understanding this ancient landscape.
Six distinct weather periods are recognised in the Gariwerd seasonal cycle. These are genuine seasons that relate to climactic features as well as referencing environmental events such as plant flowering, fruiting and animal behavioural patterns.
For thousands of years, the lives of the Jardwadjali and Djab Wurrung have been intimately linked to this seasonal cycle.
Understanding the land through seasonal observations was once essential to survival. Today the cycles are a vital tool and contribute to the management of Gariwerd.
By understanding the six seasons, you can begin to understand Gariwerd and its people.
  Phone +61 3 5361 4000 | Email  
Brambuk FacebookWinner 2009 Victorian Tourism Awards
© All Content Copyright Gariwerd Enterprises